DMV Right of Way Violations: Suspension of Driver's License/Mandatory Traffic Class
DMV Right of Way violations committed on or after December 2, 2017 may come with a suspension of a driver's license and a mandatory traffic class.
2017 Wisconsin Act 105 expanded the sanctions upon convictions of right of way violations. There are increasing penalties for failure to yield right of way offenses if injury/bodily harm, great bodily harm, or death result from an accident.
Here is a list of offenses that, if convicted, you will have to take a mandatory traffic class:
|346.05(1)||Operating left of center|
|346.06||Failure to yield on-half on single lane road|
|346.07(2)||Unsafe cutting in while passing|
|346.07(3)||Failure to yield to passing vehicle|
|346.09||Passing into oncoming traffic/on hill or curve/in no-passing zone/vehicle indicating left or U-turn|
|346.18||Failure to yield right of way violation|
|346.23||Failure to yield to pedestrian or bicyclist|
|346.31||Improper turns/failure to follow indicated turn|
|346.37(1)(a)1||Failure to yield right of way - green light/intersection/U-turn|
|346.37(1)(c)3||Failure to yield right of way - red light|
|346.37(1)(d)(1)||Failure to yield right of way - green arrow|
|346.39(1)||Failure to stop for flashing red signal|
|346.46(1)||Failure to stop/improper stop at a stop sign|
|346.46(4)(a)||Failure to stop/improper stop at a stop sign (mid-block)|
|346.47(1)||Failure to stop or yield emerging from alley or private drive|
|346.47(2)||Failure to stop for intersecting alley|
|346.87||Unsafe backing of vehicle|
If the traffic class is not successfully completed within the 6 months of the DMV order, your driver's license will be suspended for up to 5 years for failure to complete FYR course. Once the traffic class is successfully completed, the DMV will allow you to reinstate your driver's license.
DMV Mandatory Suspensions
The DMV mandates a suspension of driver's license and a traffic Class for Failure to Yield Right Away offenses that involve accidents that result in an injury:
- Injury/Bodily Harm: 60 days suspension of driver's license; You may not reinstate your driver's license until the traffic course is successfully completed.
- Great Bodily Harm: 90 days suspension of driver's license; You may not reinstate your driver's license until the traffic course is successfully completed.
- Death: 9-month suspension of driver's license; You may not reinstate your driver's license until the traffic course is successfully completed.
Department of Motor Vehicles Wisconsin
For additional questions, please call the Dept. of Motor Vehicles at 608.266.2261 or go to wisconsindot.gov